Turn the Lights On!!

Whenever she thought I was lying, my Momma used to always tell me, “what happens in the dark will come out in the light” Because we got in so much trouble and alway lied about it, my brother and I got very used to hearing that phrase. When I got to college I didn’t consider not sharing all the info with my mom lying, just keeping her out of my business!! We had moved past me getting in trouble and I told my Moms just enough to keep her at bay. But she kept telling me, “what happens in the dark will come out in the light.” I always felt weird when she said it because it was always right on time. She was rarely off base. She said it right before one of my close friends got his girl pregnant, right before I broke up with my girlfriend, right when I was thinking about playing house with another girlfriend, and when my hoin’ was getting the best of me and I was about to get kicked out of school!! It never failed, she was right there with her usual phrase, “what happens in the dark comes out in the light.”

Sad thing about that phrase is that it is true! Even when your dirt is not directly exposed, its effects are clearly evident in your life decisions and actions. The whole world doesn’t need to know your business for them to be able to tell you have some business. Even those of us that are masters at hiding skeletons in hide-away closets can’t escape this truth. Life has a way of exposing the truth. Whether it be through our insecurities, our relationship habits/patterns, how we raise our kids, how we treat our spouse or significant other, how we relate to our friends, or more importantly how we relate to God.

As I think about the things I have done in the dark that manifest themselves in so many facets in the light, I understand why kids are afraid of the dark. It’s because so many hurts, regrets, and lost opportunities lie there bitterly waiting for the light.

Here are 3 ways to tell if you’re living in the dark and 1 way to deal with it:

1. You have chunks of your life that the people closest to you have no clue about.

2. You distance yourself from friends that hold you accountable.

3. You have two sets of friends, one that knows you in the light and the other that only sees you in the dark.

If you find yourself living in the darkness and caught up in lies, there is only one thing you need to do to get right:

TELL THE TRUTH!!!

It will be difficult and possibly embarrassing but it is necessary and liberating. If the truth is going to come out anyway, why not make it on your terms!

4 responses to “Turn the Lights On!!

  1. Chris, I could only share that with you because your Grandma shared it with me and I found out she was telling the truth…

  2. I was told by an older women, girl don’t let your right hand know what your left hand is doing. I kind of like that. Sometimes when you “share” people judge you, it’s human nature. It is sometimes advised girl go ahead, share your testimony, it may help someone. I think there is a time and place and putting your business on blast before you know the people who you are sharing with. Some things you only share with God and you know he put in your life. he forgives and forgets.

  3. Chris! This was GOOD! I look forward to it being one of the blogs I check everyday. Thanks for keeping me in the loop!

    Keep Up The Awesome Work,
    -Cotton

  4. Its wonderful to see this come full circle for you! HAHAHAHAHA! Gosh you guys all make me so proud and hopeful.

Leave a Reply

